Mythology and its Cultural Importance in Micronationalism

As we approach the end of year, I was conversing with the Kossian Governor, Luiza Portes, and she asked me for Koss, how I would define this year, in one or two words. I responded: Cultural Development. Prior to joining St.Charlie, throughout its entire existence Koss’ statehood was based heavily on politics, making the system work and such. Then I started to see that Koss was too shallow, our system worked, but it missed the most important aspect – Culture. So that is what the Kossian people have been focusing on this year, developing our culture, our own sense of regional identity. Since this change of mindset, Koss has progressed a lot, we have created our own language, papian, we have recently founded Innover!  an initiative to develop further our culture and finally our mythology.

Our mythology is probably one of our greatest creation, definitely the most developed and still in progress. When I decided to create this mythology, I thought I would branch off some other mythology, being that the Greek, Roman, Croatian or Scandinavian,    but then I realized all of these mythologies branched out of the Proto Indo-European religion, and I began comparing deities and legends, and if you don’t even need to analyze it too much, you can clearly see all gods are basically the same, they were merely interpreted differently by different people leading the deities  to be describe in a certain way. We can observe such already in the word for god, “deiwos” in the Proto Indo-European language,  deus in Latin, deva in Sanskrit and divs in Persian. Once seen the similarities can’t be unseen, and it does not stop there, the supreme gods such as the greek Zeus and the roman Jupiter all descend from Dyēus ph2ter. Of course, this theory is not certain but it is very likely. When I saw all of this, I realized that cultures don’t differ that much, they all can trace back its roots. I pondered about developing my mythology from the PIE religion, but I figured it was best to not do so, why? Simple, you see, we in Koss have founded our state with the aim of fixing the problems  we have in macronations such as Brazil, problems such as corruption. And analyzing these mythologies and legends, one can say that the deities set a rather  bad example as to how to act. Zeus for example, eats his kid because of a prophecy, I believe this influenced many people to act dishonestly and thus doing unethical deeds. I did and still do not see any reason to go back to that or base the Mythology and one of the greatest sensations of prides in my nation in something so impure.  After weeks of consideration, I decided to create the myth from scratch, and I must say, it’s worth it.  While it is fun to have the power to create whatever you want, you also get to express yourself and show how you think society should run or is. For example, there is a huge gap between the elite and the rest that is represented in my mythology through the division of deities and humans, with even them living in different islands.

Therefore, I must conclude that although very nice things have existed in the past, there is no reason to not create your own, after all isn’t why we have created our micronations, to innovate?

Flameno Lucas Campos

4 comments
  1. I disagree with the notion that culture is the most important part of a micronation. The way I view things, the development of a nation will necessitate the creation of a state, and the creation of a state will necessitate the development of a nation. Therefore, micronations are built on the two equal pillars of culture and politics. Further developments, such as an economy and infrastructure, provide a roof for the structure.

  2. Lucas Campos said:

    Unfortunely, while you are correct in saying culture is not the only part in the creation and development of a state, it is certainly the fundamental and the pillars that sustain it. I lead Koss for a year as a sole political nation, and during that time my state was nothing but a shallow shell, with culture Koss has opened itself. So what I am trying to say is that although the political part is important, the culture part is more essential.

  3. If I may interject, gentlemen, I have written an essay on this particular subject of culture in micronationalism. Whilst I do agree with M. Campos, that both culture and politics are indeed pillars but that culture is the more fundamental, a nation can not be entirely cultural nor entirely political. A nation requires both (and often both can arise mutually).

    http://veritumsandus.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/cybele-the-magna-mater/

  4. Perhaps my next article can present my “equal pillars” theory.

Leave a Reply

